20.2 C
New York
Thursday, May 23, 2024
- Advertisement -

    Institut Kimia Malaysia (IKM) Merit Awards 2019

    On 23 November 2019, Institut Kimia Malaysia (IKM), Sarawak Branch held Chemistry Night 2019 to commemorate the 33rd anniversary of IKM, Sarawak Branch. The event was held at Chemsain Building, Kuching.  As part of its function to promote advances in the field of chemistry and chemistry-related sciences and their applications, IKM identifies outstanding achievers among Sarawakians every year in various academic categories for its Merit Awards. This year, we proudly announce that two (2) of the recipients are from UiTM Cawangan Sarawak.  The accolade for PhD was awarded to Dr. Khadijah Khalid, the Assistant Rector of UiTM Mukah campus for her PhD thesis entitled’Biosorption of PB (II) and Methylene Blue by chemically modified spent grated coconut’while the award for M.Sc category was won by Puan. Nur Dzaina Zaidel for her thesis entitled’Iron (II) Complex of Anthraquinone: Synthesis, Structural Elucidation and Antimicrobial Activity’. Puan Nur Dzaina was supervised by Dr. Vivien Jong Yi Mian and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Isa Mohamadin. The awards were presented by Chairman of IKM Sarawak Branch, Dr. John Chan witnessed by Sarawak’s Minister for Education, Science and Technological Research, YBhg. Dato’ Sri Michael Manyin Jawong and the President of IKM Malaysia, Datuk Soon Ting Kueh. Also present were members of IKM Sarawak, representatives and heads of various organizations from UNIMAS and UiTM.