20.2 C
New York
Thursday, May 30, 2024
- Advertisement -

    26 cities to pilot ASEAN Smart Cities Network

    A total of 26 cities from the 10 ASEAN countries have been dubbed as the pilot cities for ASEAN Smart Cities Network, with reference to a concept note disclosed by the regional bloc on 27 April 2018. The concept note outlines the proposal advance the ASEAN Smart Cities Network.

    An initiative spearheaded by Singapore, the network aims to serve as a collective platform where up to three cities per ASEAN country will work towards a single objective of smart and sustainable urban development. Cities include Singapore, Johor Bahru, Phuket, Yangon, Phnom Penh and Vientiane.

    The network development is established to resolve the identified challenges of rapid urbanisation and its significance on problems such as city congestion, water and air quality through the use of technological and digital solutions.

    The fundamental aspects of the network include the development of act plans specific to member cities. These action plans consist of distinct projects and actions that member cities will set in motion from 2018  to 2025. Further, an ASEAN Smart Cities Framework will be designed in collaboration with member cities. This framework will demonstrate the bloc’s definition of a smart city, outline key propositions and identify the underpinning results. As part of the framework, member cities can each partner with one of ASEAN’s external partners to work on smart cities development.

    At the Summit, the ASEAN leaders also issued a vision statement that reiterates some key principles that highlights the association’s shared vision and commitment. This is in line with Singapore’s chairmanship themes of resilience and innovation. The leaders also recognised the need to commence work on an ASEAN Extradition Treaty to elevate the association’s ability to fight transnational crimes; and to work resolutely towards the outcome of an effective Code of Conduct in the South China Sea. In addition, the ASEAN leaders are committed to cybersecurity cooperation for the purpose of cybersecurity policy development and capacity building initiatives.

    Source: Channel News Asia

    Participate in the upcoming QS in conversation – “University-Public Sector Partnerships: Smart Cities” which will be held from 3-5 October 2018 in Singapore.