20.2 C
New York
Friday, May 27, 2022
- Advertisement -

    Latest Posts

    Dean of Faculty of Music, UiTM Malaysia Bags 2019 Personality of the Year Award

    The dean of the Faculty of Music, Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) Malaysia, Associate Prof. Dr Tazul Izan Tajuddin, has been recently awarded the ‘Personality of the Year Award’ for 2019. The event which celebrates high achieving individuals from diverse professions and industries was held at Shangri-La Hotel, Kuala Lumpur late 2019.  Chosen by Top 10 of Malaysia magazine, the recognition bestowed Dr Tajuddin as ‘The Legendary Music Composer’.

    Top 10 Malaysia is an affiliation of Top 10 Asia Magazine published by RHL Media, a Research House of Asia. It has distribution coverage in major cities of Asia with an estimated readership of 350,000 and captures the ‘essence of high achievers and affluent society.’  It celebrates stories of successful businesses and corporations, individuals, and inspiring lifestyles of Asian life.  By showcasing role models, the publication inspires future generations to acquire an endeavor for new opportunities and success.

    Dr Tazul Tajuddin, a distinguished Malaysian composer with more than 50 compositions, has won numerous awards and has performed and produced for broadcast in 23 countries. He draws inspiration from a multitude of sources, ranging from Malay-Asian ideas to Islamic geometry, and synthesizes these features with Western European contemporary music models.  These ideas lend influence to pieces such as “Arabesque,” “Tenunan,” “Mediasi Ukiran,” “Gamelbati,” “Pantun,” and “Topography.  “Opera Puteri Saadong,” his premier opera and a first in the Malay language was funded by the Malaysian Ministry of Culture and Arts, and made its debut in Kuala Lumpur in 2015 and then in Japan and the United Kingdom.

    Making up the top 10 in the category include composers Datin Saidah Rastam and Dr Chong Kee Yong.  Other recipients include legendary composer and songwriter, Datuk Ooi Eow Jin, Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Nawab Khan, and  Datuk Mohamad Nasir Mohamed, popularly known as Datuk M Nasir, Dato’ Johari Salleh and Fauzi Marzuki. For a full list of the top 10 legendary composers, click here.

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss